My First Time

…making ice cream, that is.

mango_ice_cream

Ok, that’s a lie.

I did contribute to a luscious white chocolate and cinnamon ice-cream at my friend Aditya’s place about a year back. I was responsible for the custard and he did all the physical work required. It was an achievement where I was concerned, since back then, the only other thing I could make apart from custard, was coffee. The credit for how and where I learned to make custard, goes to my mother, who would make me accompany her in making caramel and fruit custards for dessert whenever we had special guests over. My job in all that custard-making was to pour out the liquids into individual serving bowls and spoon in sauce over the caramels.

But I watched and learned. And it has finally paid off.

I’m a little late actually with my current tub of ice-cream, since summer’s been long gone here. But mangoes are still flecking the market and we have kilos of it stuffed into the refrigerator.

Indians love their mangoes…no conditions, no doubts and no species spared. If we’re not making lassi or aamras, we’re either making kulfi or just contentedly sucking the stone-seed dry on warm, humid afternoons. And then we have some more after dinner.

Before this, I had been satisfied with the humble espresso slushy, that I had taken so much pain in whipping (breaking up the ice crystals, they call it) with all my physical strength. It did turn out slightly crunchy…but only slightly, mind you.

This time taking no chance, I used a blender.

mango_ice_cream

Mango-Cinnamon Ice-cream

Ingredients:

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon powder
  • 2 mangoes, stone removed

How-to:

  • Heat 1/2 cup cream, 1/2 cup milk and half the sugar in a saucepan on medium heat. Stir to dissolve the sugar and simmer till the mixture is almost ready to boil off. Take the mixture off heat and let it stand for a minute.
  • Beat the egg yolks with the rest of the sugar till the sugar dissolves.
  • Add the cream mixture into the egg mixture slowly stirring constantly so the eggs don’t scramble.
  • After fully incorporated, strain the mixture back into the pan and put on medium heat. Keep stirring firmly till the custard is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.
  • Cool the custard completely before adding in the cinnamon powder and mango puree. Mix thoroughly over an ice bath.
  • Pour the mixture in a freeze-proof container (preferably air-tight) and freeze for about two hours.
  • After two hours, take out the container and either whip the mango custard thoroughly with a fork to break up the ice crystals or just blitz the entire thing for a minute in the blender. Pop the slushy mixture back into the freezer. Blitz once again after an interval of two hours. After the second blitz the mixture would require 2-3 hours to reach the correct consistency. Alternately of course, if you’re one of the lucky ones with an ice-cream machine (one of those that I’m still saving up for), freeze the mixture according to the manufacturers’ instructions.
  • Let the ice-cream stand for sometime before serving, if it hardens up too much.

ice_cream

mango_ice_cream

7 thoughts on “My First Time

  1. I think I must have been an Indian in my past life, I LOVE Mangoes.. ALl species! I’ve never made mango ice cream before, but I’d imagine the outcome would be awesome. Thanks for the recipe, I just bought an ice cream maker machine a couple of months back, I will definitely give it a go once we get warmer here

  2. It came out so beautifully! I’ve never made a mango ice cream but I would love to try it out. And you know, I actually read somewhere that thoguh people eat ice cream in summer, it’s actually better in winter when you need that extra bit of fat to keep warm!

Leave a Reply

