What the fudge…?!?!

terrace_floor

The first droplets of rain in Mumbai, left streaks across the tiled terrace floor, almost washing away the dirt my gardener leaves behind every alternate afternoon. You could hardly call it “rainfall” since the drizzle was nothing compared to what Mumbai usually faces.

We’re all gearing up for the washout due 23rd or 24th of the next month. How lovely.

Meanwhile, I’m getting deliciously absent-minded, day by day.

I released the wrong set of drawings to the wrong consultant yesterday and then made his assistant drive back to the office and collect the right set. Not to mention the madness with which I cursed at myself while he was paying full attention to my instructions. His spectacles almost fell off the edge of his nose, I swear.

I typed a fantastically raunchy text message meant for the Lieutenant and then sent it to his best friend. Don’t ask me how that happened. I’m only thankful that M. is a very understanding guy and wasn’t really scandalized by the message.

I got inspired by the new book on chocolate that I bought and decided to try out the orangette recipe….I know, I know its technically not orange-season in India, but the tangy green ones are out. I just couldn’t help it.

It was destined to get all fucked fudged up really. Sorry Mom.

And hurriedly read through the directions, and instead of letting the peel strips cool in the sugar solution for 6 hours, I strained them out and left them in the open. By the time I came back from office, red ants were yelling out “Thank You Amrita!”

I know, I’m smart.

And if you’re wondering, then no, green peels don’t work as well as orange ones…they’re just not as sweet or easy.

Shifting plans come easy when your refrigerator is stocked with a couple of slabs of chocolate.

So instead I chose fudge. Simple.

Unfortunately, in my first attempt I “absentmindedly” placed the sauce-pan of condensed milk on the bowl of boiling water, instead of the bowl with the chopped chocolate in it!! Needles to say, I ended up with a horribly burnt-bottomed sauce-pan and a kitchen smelling of burnt sweet milk….

Anyways, on to the fudge.

Walnut fudge to be more precise. And double-chocolate too.

I really should come up with a fruit dessert one of these days…..otherwise people might think I’m a chocoholic.

Double Chocolate and Walnut Fudge

Sticky Gooey Chewy Double Chocolate and Walnut Fudge

What You Need:

– 250gms of dark chocolate, chopped

– 250gms of white chocolate, chopped

– 3 tablespoons of salted butter, softened

– 1 cup of sweetened condensed milk, at room temperature (pray don’t heat it, unless you’re ready to watch it like a hawk)

– 80-100gms of walnuts, chopped

Let’s make Fudge!

– Melt the chocolates together along with the butter, over a double boiler.

– Add it to the condensed milk.

– Stir in the walnuts.

– Line a flat baking tray or dish with parchment paper (or just lightly grease it).

– Pour in the fudge mixture and let it settle evenly for 5 minutes or so.

– Freeze for 4-5 hours till firm, and can be cut into squares.


Leave a Reply

