2:30 A.M. and a lot of crying…

“I think I’m falling in love with you.”

How would most women react to this line? Most would be happy, taken aback, pleasantly surpirised, ecstatic?

Then confusion would set in or maybe even shock or apprehension.

I, apparently, would react by rolling to and fro on the muddy terrace floor crying my eyes out.

Romantic, eh?

But that’s exactly what happened when the Lieutenant blurted out that line last Monday, 2:30 in the morning.

I spluttered and choked over my coffee. Ended up crying and laughing at the same time.

Its been a week since then and it still hasn’t sunk in. I’m in a committed relationship with my best friend.


We spoke through most of the remaining night (or dawn?), and the realization that the feelings had been building up for quiet sometime was like a tight slap on our faces.

All of it is still a little difficult to believe and almost dream-like, probably because he’s not here physically, in front of me. Which I’m partially thankful for, since I’m pretty damn sure I would have fainted if he was.

Two and a half years of knowing each other and in a week I realize that I know absolutely nothing about him.

The Lieutenant and Me

8 thoughts on “2:30 A.M. and a lot of crying…

  1. O good for you Amrita…YAY!! I don’t think I would have been able to put my feelings into words as beautifully as you have (or at all for that matter). Now that’s why you’ve been missing!!

  2. Hey Amman,

    Wonderfully put i must say… The feeling is second to none and i’ m sure u’d be reeling in it for a while…. Have fun and Hope to c u sumtime soon….

    I wudn’t say whoz the prize catch though… Santy or U???.. I Wonder….

  3. well well… i do look pretty smart in black and white dont I??? And boy is my girl pretty or what?

    P.S. Madhu… dont give me one more reason to kick ur butt.

  4. U know what.. I think I’ll take the risk and say THAT SHE IS THE PRIZE…

    And AMMAN.. I hope like hell u stand in support when he tries to get funny… I can run pretty fast u know.. But just in case…..

  5. finally i say! how could you two not know when i knew it from almost the time i heard about you two! feigning ignorance i say! and i’m sooooooooo happy for you. (once i get to know him i’ll be happy for him too!) yaiii!!!! yaiii !!!!

Leave a Reply

