I ♥ Lazy Weekends

Thank goodness for lazy weekends. I had one after a long time.

I re-stashed dark chocolate bars throughout my room.

I had a long lunch at Pranjal & Ashwin’s. We booked tickets for Europe and I made a drink out of Mango-orange pulp and soda. It tasted good. No joke.

I brought out my trolley-bag…even though its way too early to start packing.

On Sunday, I snoozed on happily till noon when I was woken up by a couple of girlfriends who barged in to announce how my favourite IPL team had won their last match.

I treated myself to a couple of bowlfuls of mint-chocolate chip ice-cream from Waitrose.

A sun-beam sneaked into my room late afternoon. Its March in England and the Sun is starting to show.

I found two pairs of shoes the workmen left behind in a house under construction.

I also made chicken and caramelized onions in soy sauce.

Ingredients:

  • 250 gms of boneless chicken pieces
  • 2 Spanish onions, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon of white granulated sugar
  • 5 big cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 inch block of ginger, sliced into fine strips
  • 3 cloves
  • 1 tablespoon of fish sauce
  • 1 table spoon of honey
  • 2 tablespoon of dark soy sauce
  • 500ml of chicken stock (plain water will also do)
  • 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil
  • Chopped coriander or red chillies, to garnish (optional)
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

How-To:

Heat the oil in a pan and fry the onions till they start to turn brown. Add the garlic, ginger and sugar and cook on low heat till the onions caramelize.

Add the chicken pieces, cloves, fish sauce, soy sauce, honey and chicken stock (or water). Stir well. Cover and cook on medium-low heat for about 15 minutes. Check to see if more stock or water needs to be added (you don’t want burnt-bottom pans!) and cook for a further 15 minutes or till the chicken has cooked through.

Season with salt and black pepper. Keep in mind that the soy sauce and fish sauce has already made the dish salty.

Boil off most of the liquid on high heat, if you want a thicker gravy. Or leave it be if you want it to be more brothy.

Garnish with chopped coriander leaves or red chillies and serve over steamed rice.

I ♥ lazy weekends.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. slnm

     /  March 17, 2010

    this is quite brilliant, thanks :)

    Reply
  2. Kimbo

     /  October 13, 2010

    Yummy!

    My belly thanks you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

