Hello Again

Is it too late to roar out a ‘Happy New Year!!’ ?

Ah well. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!! Hope all you lot out there have a lovely one!!

I realize and I understand that I deserve to be shot to death considering the fact that this is my first post after a very long break. But I have an excuse! Yes, I do!

I was busy.

Same old story, did I hear someone say?

It is, in a way. I mean, nowadays I keep wondering what in f***’s name made me decide to come back to school again. (Should I bring on the cussing a little later into the post?)

They’re wringing our necks at the altar of higher education after flogging us with a whip made out of post-graduate degree certificates. And then they have some more sadistic fun by dipping our head into a humongous vat of boiling midnight oil. I hope I don’t sound gruesome. I’m kind of enjoying all the pressure. It’s a high….in a way.

After a bout of snow and a dose of wet and slippery cityscape, we’re finally back to dry, sunny windy days. All through winter, I couldn’t think of much except coffee and chocolate. Maybe a chicken and leek soup. Or a spicy pumpkin curry. Or even greasy pasta with fatty bacon bits. And did I forget to mention Donata’s lovely mulled wine?

Yes, Donata made mulled red wine for my birthday and I tried making some on Christmas, the one that I spent in Nottingham. Glorious sweetness, heady oranginess and spicy red rolling wine. Its like someone trapped a festival in a deep wok.

And yes. We used a well-seasoned chinese wok to make it. Groovy, eh? Kind of surprising it didn’t end up tasting like sesame chicken…

And yes, I have been cooking.

Shocking. I know.

Right now as I’m typing this, I’m feeling this deep sense of guilt that I didn’t take phototgraphs (or even notice) of any of the dishes that I whipped up in the last couple of months. I made them without paying attention. I ate them….no…I gulped them down with water. And even more shockingly, I never even talked about any of them.

I am aware that I put white bread into my mouth whenever I’m hungry….its difficult to miss white bread in England. And then there are those instances when I’m suddenly made aware of the heady smell of rosemary and burnt chicken skin coming from the kitchen, which reminds me that I had shoved something chicken on something tray-ish into the oven 2 hours back. And then I go, literally, stumbling down the staircase to the kitchen to turn the damn oven down so the smoke doesn’t set off the fire alarm.

Shovelling food down your pie-hole — I have finally realized what the phrase means, because apparently I’ve become a champion at it.

Apart from that I’ve taken to collecting cookbooks. Always a good thing. And its almost become sort of an obsession, at least, one of the strongest after my use-garlic-in-everything period. Perhaps its an outlet for my foodie-motions since I haven’t been writing. I know I know, I’m not the one to follow recipes or measurements, but the cookbooks are especially helpful when you’ve been swimming in a pool of drawings and case studies and just need something to bust your stress at 3 a.m. in the morning (along with a cup of cocoa, of course).

I’ve been getting emails and comments from my readers checking back for new posts and have been disappointed, and that’s made me ecstatic! Oh…well, not your disappointment but the fact that you remember me! And as a thank-you here’s a simple rosemary and yogurt chicken dish I prepared about a week ago. Easy and hassle-free.

(And oh yes, I have a ‘pie’ coming along specially for Women’s Day!)

Rosemary and Yogurt Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 6 pieces of chiken thighs or drumsticks
  • 3 sprigs of rosemary
  • 1 cup of yogurt (sour cream would do fantastically too)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons white granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon chilli flakes
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

How-to:

  • Marinate the chicken with all the ingredients except black pepper, in a bowl. Cover the bowl with cling film and leave in the refrigerator for an hour or two.
  • Pre-heat the oven (I use fan-assisted) to 275 F.
  • Lightly grease a roaster with oil. Place the chicken pieces in it so that they don’t touch each other. Cover with aluminum foil.
  • Lower the oven temperature to 200 F, and pop in the roaster for about 35-40 minutes. Check to see if the juices run clear.
  • Season with ground black pepper and serve with a warm bowl of rice and a garden salad.
Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I never could think of making a yogurt based chicken with rosemary! what a wonderful idea.

    Reply
  2. Hello Amrita!So happy to see you blogging again. I have dropped by your site in the past hoping to see a new post from you,and Im so glad to see one now…and a yummy chicken post too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

