Tintin and Cocoa

chocolate

God bless all things chocolate.

There was a time (I’m not going to mention that it was six years back) when one could still find me gobbling up the pages of Tintin and Asterix and washing them down with cold cocoa. It was a time when I thought my curly hair cropped short was the hottest thing ever. It was a time when arguing with my Mother was the boldest thing to do ever. And a time when I used to walk like I was gliding on ice.

Yes…there was a time I used to walk like I was gliding on ice. Don’t ask me why…I have no explanation.

Lately, I’ve been hit by the Tintin bug again. Don’t know why, but I’ve pulled out all the bound up editions of the classic that I had stashed at the back of the book cabinet, with all its yellowing pages with their folded ears, glue prints left by Post-its that were used as book-marks, and the occassional coffee mug print.

I remember what was in those coffee mugs. No coffee, all cocoa…cold and chocolatey. My childhood was spent in believing that drinking chocolate simply had to have a warm milk base…there could be no cocoa without steaming mugs of milk. Its colder cousin was never something I was aware of. Seriously.

I was reluctantly introduced to it in college. At this point, I know many of you are snorting in disbelief. But its true. The laariwala (the “cocoa” cart guy) served up crushed ice dressed in a sickly-sweet green syrup and topped it with chopped cherries. Fauri and I hogged the whole thing down. The she ordered cold cocoa. I looked on in surprise and undivided curiosity when a tall glass of silky chocolate in milk turned up with a garnish of milk chocolate chips. It looked milky and was delicious. I was hooked. And spent the rest of First Year curled up with a mug of cold cocoa and enchanted by a man with weird golden hair and an even weirder pair of trousers.

cocoa

Cold Cocoa with Cayenne

Ingredients:

Four simple things -

  • 1 cup whole milk…chilled
  • 2 tablespoons of Dutch cocoa powder
  • A pinch of cayenne pepper…for a stronger tang make it 1/4 teaspoon
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar (this is optional…if you don’t prefer the natural taste of your cocoa powder)

What to do:

Nothing much really. Throw everything together in a blender and blitz at high speed for a minute (make it a couple of minutes if bits of cocoa remain). I don’t usually seive the mixture, but if its too bitsy strain by all means for a smoother drink.

I wouldn’t mind adding half a shot of white rum to make it an adult cold cocoa!


Previous Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. I can definitely see this with a touch of Frangelico. I’m now very interested in adding some cold cocoa to my Saturday…

    Reply
  2. i couldn’t tell from your ‘about me’ page if you were located in the u.s.

    if you’re not then here is a bit of info for you. in the u.s. we simply call it chocolate milk. i think every person i know drank chocolate milk as a kid. they even make it easy by making hershey’s chocolate syrup, which i would squirt in huge quantities into my milk. that or nestle’s quik, which you could just stir up with a spoon.

    there is a thing called frozen hot chocolate that they serve at some coffee shops and stuff, but that is a completely different thing all together).

    Reply
  3. I love Tintin, too and reading this post makes me want to get out those much adored books!

    Reply
  4. Delish..and I agree, God bless all things chocolate

    Reply
  5. oneordinaryday

     /  August 30, 2009

    Mmm. Looks and sounds lovely!

    Reply
  6. Agree with you, God bless all things Chocolate!

    Reply
  7. this looks wonderful! and I disagree with asianflower… this looks way less sweet than chocolate milk.

    Reply
  8. oh, i wasn’t trying to say her’s didn’t look delicious or better (it does!). was just trying to say that it’s pretty common here. i always think homemade is better than store bought mixes though which, yes, are chocked full of sugar. :)

    Reply
  9. Your cocoa looks really good!

    Nice blog you have!

    Reply
  10. This is a wonderful post with an amazing photograph.

    Do you know of the product called Ovaltine? It’s a very sweet, lightly chocolately drink mix with vitamins added. With some organic whole milk and some heavy cream, it’s amazing :) (Although not the same as proper cocoa.)

    Reply
  11. Asiaflower: Oh yes! I’ve tastes Nestle’s Quik…fast fix really…but making my own means I get to control the amount of chocolatiness!

    Justine: You should get ‘em out…brought back so many memories!

    Mama Coyote: I’ve heard of Ovaltine but haven’t had the chance to taste it…yet!

    Reply
  12. Spiced up cocoa is the best thing in the world and I would add the white rum, too. Just for us adults :D

    Reply
  13. Ovaltine’s pretty sweet, but I think it tastes richer than Nestle’s Quik. Especially if you use whole milk and a little cream :)

    Reply
  14. Nice blog, Amrita.

    MMmmmm hot chocolate, can’t think of anything better on a rainy day :)

    Reply
  15. what I wonder is how it would be if you made the hot cocco and then chilled it overnight for the next day? Maybe mixing it while hot would get rid of any bits and pieces…

    Reply
  16. This looks amazing and I’m looking forward to the cold autumn, wintry days where I can enjoy a cup of this!

    Reply
  17. Ahh~Cocoa goodness! I’m going to make this right away!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

