Sugar High and Tipsy

My blood sugar levels have hit the roof.

Well, no…not technically. But it seems so obvious considering the fact that I can’t come up with food that has absolutely no sugar in it (or honey,or molasses, or syrup, or…well you know the rest). And I’m not even talking about desserts.

I’m currently in a phase where I get fits everytime I see the sugar jar…and automatically give in to the temptation of dumping a spoonful of it into anything that’s stewing, or roasting, or boiling, or frying in the pan. I have started craving for sugary sweetness, which is unlike me in totality, after lunch, after dinner and even before bedtime.

Forget about being terrified of turning into my mother, I’m practically turning into all the women in my family. They love their sweets, believe me.

Now, I feel like a traitor after just blogging about how I stay away from ghee or syrup-dunked sweets. No excuse. I’ve even, to my own horror, found myself wondering how recipes are only totally and completely 100% savory, seasoned with only salt and pepper!

So, this is what the family GP had warned me about….hmmm.

And the rate at which Fauri keeps replacing the empty jar, all the while wondering where exactly was all the sugar magically disappearing to, is almost obscene.

Well, what can I say…I’m trying.

And also I believe, sugar does not go well with alcohol….with regards to consumption of course. I’m talking about last week’s fiasco where I ended up acting like a drunken idiot. Well, because I was drunk. Fauri happens to be hopeless at dealing with drunken people, especially after she downs a couple of vodka shots herself. I should have known that. She took a drunk 24-year-old, tottering on high heels with her wildly curly hair lose all over the place to Pizza Hut, for dinner.

And then called up the Lieutenant!

I forgive her.

I can only faintly remember his voice over the phone, “Amman? Amman…”

And that’s about it.

The evening ended with us ordering brownies…yep, that’s right….eight shots of Old Monk and chocolate brownie with vanilla ice-cream. It was a miracle that I refrained myself from doing a table-top number!

Ok, I have embarassed myself enough…used up all of last week’s quota.

The chicken I made yesterday for lunch was an excruciatingly simple one….I was almost excited that it might be one of those 5-recipe marvels. It did have a teeny-weeny bit of white sugar in it. Which was completely unnecessary (which is making me feel even more guilty now), since I used mangoes! I’m spelling out s-e-a-s-o-n-a-l here.

mangochicken2

Mango Chicken

What You Need:

- 2 chicken breasts, cleaned and without their skins

- 1 tablespoon of olive oil

- 1 ripe mango, diced

- 3 sprigs of fresh rosemary

- 1 tablespoon of whole black peppercorns

- 3 cloves of garlic, chopped finely

- 1 teaspoon of white sugar

- 2 tablespoons of bourbon

- Half a teaspoon of red chili powder

- Salt to taste

How-To:

- Place the breasts between two plastic sheets and flatten them till they’re like 1/4 of an inch thick.

- Heat oil in a pan.

- Fry the chicken till it starts browning.

- Take them off the heat and shred into bite-sized pieces with a couple of forks. Don’t throw the oil in the pan.

- Reheat the oil and add the garlic, rosemary and mangoes. Cook on low heat for two minutes or till the mango pieces start to disintegrate.

- Add the shedded chicken and peppercorns, sugar, chili powder and bourbon.

- Cover and cook for ten minutes.

- Season to taste with salt. Stir and leave on medium heat for a minute.

- Serve hot with steamed rice or peas pulav.

mangochicken1

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. This looks really delicious!

    Reply
  1. On adventure and on spinach « fat.free.brainwaves

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

