White Chocolate and a Tired Chicken

What do I like about chocolate mousse?

Well, the question should really be, “What I don’t like about it?”.

Its chocolate, its as sweet or bitter as you want it to be, it can have any added flavor that you’d want, fruits, nuts, foam, requires far less time to set than ice-cream or semi-freddos (a highly attractive feature to seek for in recipes, when it comes to impatient bums like me), it melts in your mouth, and what not.

So, I tried to choose between a sumptious honey-chicken-prawn-pilaf dinner and a white chocolate mousse, for the sole reason that I didn’t feel like making both….but ultimately ended up doing so, anyway.

This time its a white chocolate mousse…

Ingredients:

- 100gms white chocolate

- 1 heaped tablespoon of unsalted butter

- 2 egg yolks

- 1 egg white

- 50gms heavy cream

- 4 teaspoons of castor sugar

- vanilla essence (I used 2-3 drops of a really strong one)

How-to:

- Melt the chocolate and butter in a bain marie. Take it off the heat after the chocolate’s melted. Let it stand for minute and beat in the egg yolks.

- Lightly whip the cream (lightly…only soft peaks).

- Combine the chocolate and cream well.

- Beat the egg white till it holds its shape, gradually adding the sugar in.

Try the inverted bowl test. The white should be whipped to such a consistency that, if you hold the bowl inverted, it shouldn’t plop out!

I usually hold it over my head…but that’s me.

- Fold on the chocolate-cream mixture into the egg white gently.

- Pour in glasses and chill in the freezer, till set. 2-3 hours should do it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Do you use a regular point and shoot or a DSLR? I can never get my photos to take shots that does not look overexposed. I really like the picture you submitted to foodgawker!

    Reply
  2. This looks so good.!

    Reply
  3. Your photography is so stunning! Thanks for sharing the recipe, it looks wonderful.

    Reply
  4. That first picture is stunning! I just love it. And the recipe sounds good too.

    Reply
  5. wow the picture is nicely taken! and looks really good!

    Reply
  6. That mousse looks divine!

    Reply
  7. wonderful! :-)

    Reply
  8. hooisanlai

     /  November 24, 2008

    Hey Amrita. You’ve been tagged by me. Will you pls help me to do the meme thing? Here’s the link: http://laihooisan.wordpress.com/2008/11/24/meme-time/

    Thanks!:D

    Reply
  9. Hey Amrita,
    I’m always looking for new ways to brighten up my plate and this site definitely helps! And the photgraphy is stellar. Do come visit me again! :)
    Dyane – oisercage.com

    Reply
  10. Hey, was just wondering how things were – you haven’t updated in ages. You should be making some spicy Madras curry or bake an opera cake right about now.

    Reply
  11. You’re an artist now too??? This looks amazing and look at the plating????? It’s so decadent and so professional :)

    Reply
  12. WOW..what a stunning first pic. It’s gorgeous, & I love the white choc mousse. Looks as good as it gets. I’m sure I’ve met you before, you are SO FAMILIAR, but I don’t know where. Anyway, am gonna follow you now…cheers

    Reply
  13. Love that first photo!

    Reply
  14. Chanel

     /  April 13, 2009

    Your photos are amazing – awesome recipe and pics

    Reply
  15. Amrita! Excellent .. love ur pics and recipes… I never had any idea you were such an enthusiastic cook! Keep it up babe ! :)))

    Reply
  16. Bonjour

    It is my first time here. I just wanted to say hi!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

