Cookies and Bandhani

I’ve been obsessed with my mother’s closet since I don’t remember when.

Its weird if you think about it – I’m a full-grown twenty-three (almost twenty-four) year old woman who can cook and housekeep like an expert (at least, by now I can), but I still cannot resist rummaging through my Mum’s dressing table or try on her saris, whenever I get a chance.

I know, I need help.

Anyway, while my dark chocolate & walnut cookies were baking, I pulled out all Ma’s old dupattas. Cottons, silks, chiffons, crepes, lace and what not…she even had one in a ‘fishnetty’ lycra material.

OK.

Most of them have faded and some have huge holes in them and some are torn in half, literally. But what caught my eye was this hot pink bandhani-work dupatta, which was surprisingly intact, kept twisted properly and not the slightest bit faded. The color just popped and said “HI!” to me!

For all who’re wondering what on earth is “bandhani” – bandhani work is a type of tie-dyeing art particular to Gujarat and Rajasthan, India.

As for the cookies – well, they’ve got chocolate, walnuts and honey in them.

What You Need -

- 1 and a half cups regular, all-purpose flour

- 3/4 cup dark cocoa powder (Dutch is preferable, but any good quality cocoa powder would do)

- Half cup of walnuts, chopped coarsely

- 1 teaspoon salt

- 3/4 tsp baking soda

- 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

- 1 cup confectioners’ sugar

- 3 tablespoons of honey

- 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

- 2 large eggs

How-To:

- Preheat the oven to 375 F.  Prepare cookie sheets.

-Sift the flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking soda together.

- Cream the butter with sugar till smooth and fluffy.

- Add the eggs one at a time beating continuously. Add the vanilla essence and honey.

- Add in the dry ingredients an stir to make a creamy batter.

- Add in the chopped walnuts and mix well.

- Spoon out the batter (1 tablespoon for each cookie) onto the sheets leaving enough gap between each lump.

- Bake the cookies for 10-15 minutes. Cool the cookies on cooling racks and serve with…uh milk? I prefer vanilla ice-cream though.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Hey! Hope you’re feeling better. It must be cookies season because my blog list is just filled with people making cookies.

    Reply
  2. jax

     /  October 24, 2008

    I’d love to make this for some of my vegan friends. I know you can substitute applesauce for eggs, what would you suggest?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

