My Get-Well Food

Its been a long week. The flu did not worsen like I had thought it would, thankfully. The cold is still giving me a hard time though. The good thing that has come out of all this is, I have had about 16 cups of yellow lentil soup soup with two dozen pieces of mini-naan over the span of the last seven days. No, seriously.

I remember, Amanda’s (from Konosur) comment on the stuffed peppers, about an Indian flat bread or naan recipe. I guess I was waiting for a bout of influenza to finally get off my bum to blog about it.

The naan has Central Asian origins, resembles a pita but softer, in India its a North Indian staple.

Naan (makes one large or 4 bite-sized ones):

Half cup plain white flour

– Half a teaspoon baking powder

– 1 teaspoon of sugar (naan is more sweet than savory)

– A pinch of salt

– 1 tablespoon white oil

– 2 tablespoons of milk

– 1 egg, beaten

– Chopped parsley, or chopped coriander, or sesame seeds or nigella seeds

Pre-heat the oven to maximum heat. Sift the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt together. Mix the oil, milk and half the beaten egg well and add this to the flour mixture. Pour this into the center of the flour and knead adding water if necessary to form soft dough. Grease a bowl with a few drops of oil and roll the dough around in it. Cover the bowl with a damp cloth and let rest in a cool corner for about half an hour. Roll out the dough in an elliptical shape. Stud the surface with the coriander/parsley/nigella seeds/sesame seeds. Brush the top lightly with the remaining egg. Prepare the baking tray and bake for about 10 minutes or till the naan’s puffed up and golden brown. Serve with a hot lentil soup.

11 thoughts on “My Get-Well Food

  1. Sweet, a naan recipe that doesn’t require me to wait for yeast or use an ungodly amount of oil. Thanks so much for posting this!

  2. Amritac! Thanks so much for this recipe… I’m going to make it for a Diwali gathering with some friends at the end of the month, we’re having an Indian food fiesta.

  3. Get well soon Amrita 🙂 your naan recipe looks simple. Will give it a try some day. By the way, we eat naan with tandoori chicken and curries in Malaysia. It’s good!

  4. Reminds me of homemade chicken soup and dumplings, Its interesting seeing what people in other areas eat when they are sick or lonesome…. i love a good lentil soup, these naan look pretty easy to make, I’ll have to try some the next time i need a good pick-me-up 🙂 Feel better!

  5. I must say, when I first looked the images over, I thought, “Huh, what the heck is that?” After reading your short, spot-on piece, I am excited to give this a try. Thanks so much!

  6. This does look incredible and simple! And I didn’t realize that Naan was sweet. I know I love it but never realized that. Bad food fan I am. 🙂

    What’s ‘white oil’ and can I use something else for it? like Olive oil?

  7. Well, I made these last night. I doubled the recipe to make 4 medium/smallish sized breads, following the recipe exactly. The dough as written gave me more of a really thick pancake batter and I had to add almost a 1/2 cup extra flower. It was still VERY sticky but I baked them and they ended up looking just like the photo. However they were very dense because of the added flour. I’m not sure how to fix this if I tried it again.

Leave a comment