Sugar-Kissed Goodness

I am currently completely hooked on to Cafe Coffee Day’s Cookies. They have a range of Chocolate Chip, Honey & Oatmeal, and “Completely Eggless!” ones in pretty brown and yellow tins. Super fattening and not cheap.

My kind of food, ye-ah!

Anyway, my brother and I managed to polish off the last of the cookies yesterday and two hours later I was already craving for more. So…I watched some television, got some butter and eggs home-delivered and…made cookies! The generous amount of cinnamon in these warms up your throat and the raisins add chewyness.

These cookies remind me of college, when we’d try out sugar-cookie recipes at Adi’s place with a microwave (they used to turn out super-soggy) and make spinach & feta dim sums (a watery lot) with the help of an old idli steamer.

Cookie batter:

- 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

- 1/3 cup unsweetened dark cocoa powder

- 1 teaspoon instant coffee powder

- 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

- 2 teaspoons cornstarch

- 1/2 teaspoon salt

- 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

- 2/3 cup granulated sugar

- 1 teaspoon freshly ground cinnamon

- 3 teaspoons finely chopped raisins

- 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

- 2 eggs

- 2 teaspoons honey

Mix the butter and sugar well till the mixture turns almost white…almost. Add the eggs and beat well.

Mix the dry ingredients in a separate bowl and add the butter-egg mixture in. Add honey and stir hard. I like my cookies to be lumpy, but for a smoother batter you could pop it into the processor. Chill the dough in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes.

Spoon out dollops of batter on a greased baking tin, leaving enough space between each dollop to allow them to spread. Bake for 15 minutes in a pre-heated oven at 350° C. Cool on a wire rack and sprinkle generously with icing sugar.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Your pictures are gorgeous.

    And I love cookies!

    Reply
  2. These look amazing. I love honey cookies the most. I think I would like to try these without cocoa powder and putting in slightly chopped ground oats! Yummy.

    Reply
  3. These look amazing! Love the photos, too. I have got to try these cookies!

    Reply
  4. Excellent photos, way to focus on the important elements…and the quality of the subject must be great! :D

    Reply
  5. now they are a temtping lot!!!

    Reply
  6. YUM! I think I need to TRY THESE. Your pictures make them look absolutely adorable, all covered in powdered-sugary yumness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

